Skip to content
June 15, 2010 / Sarah

One Man’s Trash is Another Man’s Treasure

Life as we know it:

So! It’s been way too long since we’ve posted. If you consider filling up the shelves in the living room a project, then we did get a project done, but otherwise…  the adventure so far has just been  a steady collection of furniture, getting together with friends, working full-time, making lists of things we need, and chasing after the kitties outside. What we can give you though is a list of things that are soon to be in-progress!

  • Half-Bath: We plan on taking out the ugly peach-pink toilet & sink, and putting in a new toilet (from the master bathroom) and a new white vanity (already purchased). We bought a new Kohler toilet for the full bath (which flushes half the water our old toilet used, points for being eco-friendly) and are putting that old toilet (white) in the half bath. Gotta love all-white appliances. We plan on putting up white beadboard in the half bath on the lower half of the walls. Then we want to paint the top half and find some nice tile for the floors. I found a nice table in someone’s trash pile the other day that I plan on re-finishing for the corner of the half bath, to hold TP, candles, a plant, etc.
  • After getting over the deer eating half of our new plants in the front garden (we’ve since sprayed them w/ garlic oil and are nursing the eaten ones back to health), Mark and I whipped up a backyard plan – which will involve maybe a re-finished outdoor furniture set, top soil, ferns (LOTS of ferns!), grass seed, more flagstones (we will wear workboots to transport them, Brooke!), some lattice/trellis wood to put up around the house,  and maybe borrowing our friends’ power washer……
  • Kitchen Painting!

Other than that, I am currently on the last couple days of recovering from my cochlear implant surgery. This is my second cochlear implant, meaning I already have one on my left side, so I now have a bilateral hearing system. I go to get my stitches out today, and hopefully then I”ll be able to wash my hair! (It’s been a week, ugh!) I have to wait till July 20th to get activated (turn the implant on and start hearing on my right side) but I’ll be so busy leading up to the big day so I’m sure the time will pass quickly. Soon enough though I will be able to hear with both ears!!

More to come later… I will say this, we’ve been enjoying raiding people’s trash piles!!! :P

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Neil Andrew DuPaul / Jun 15 2010 2:02 pm

    Ferns are fricken awesome. I approve.

  2. Eric Exley / Sep 14 2010 7:33 pm

    We want to get up there to see you and help out as soon as we can. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

